‹ Takaisin

2019 Policy Changes for IIA Global Certifications

The Professional Certifications Board (PCB) has approved several changes to The IIA’s certification programs. These changes will be effective 1 September 2019.

  1. Program Eligibility Window Change – CIA ONLY

To align with the three-part CIA exam, the CIA program eligibility window has been adjusted from 4 years to 3 years. This reflects the amount of time typically required to complete the certification process. Candidates who are already approved into the program prior to 1 September 2019 will maintain a 4-year program window. Candidates approved into the program on or after 1 September 2019 will have 3 years to complete the program. Candidates can still request a one-year extension. Learn more

  1. Exam Retake Window Shortened – ALL CERTIFICATION PROGRAMS

To enable in-process candidates for all certifications and qualifications to complete the certification process more quickly, the waiting period to retake an exam will be shortened from 90 to 60 days. As long as it is still within the program eligibility window, in-process candidates can retake the exam after waiting 60 days.

  1. Internal Audit Practitioner (IAP) Experience Requirement

Since the Internal Audit Practitioner (IAP) designation is intended for individuals new to internal auditing, eligibility requirements for IAP candidates will no longer include six months of internal auditing or equivalent experience. Please visit the IAP program webpage for more information.